What is national symbol? & Top 11 Nigerian Symbols and their Meaning

What is national symbol? & Top 11 Nigerian Symbols and their Meaning

What is National Symbol? 

national symbol is a symbol of any entity considering and manifesting itself to the world as a national community, the sovereign states but also nations and countries in a state of colonial or other dependence, federal integration, or even an ethno-cultural community considered a nationality despite having no political autonomy.

National symbols intend to unite people by creating visual, verbal, or iconic representations of the national people, values, goals, or history. These symbols are often rallied around as part of celebrations of patriotism or aspiring nationalism (such as independence, autonomy or separation movements) and are designed to be inclusive and representative of all the people of the national community.


Top 8 Common official national symbols 

1.   The flag or banner of a nation-state

2.   The coat of arms of the land or ruling dynasty

3.   The seal or stamp of the land or ruling dynasty

4.   The head of state, especially in a monarchy

5.   The associated device and motto can also be used separately

6.   The national colors, often derived from the above

7.   Abstract symbols

8.   National anthems, royal and imperial hymns; alongside such official hymns custom may also recognize the national symbol values of very popular songs.


Unofficial national symbols 

In many ways, well-known sights in a country can also be seen as national symbols, as can traditional items of handicraft, folk costumes, natural monuments, national epics and national myths, as well as symbols used by national sports teams and their supporters.


Top 11 Nigerian Symbols and their Meaning

Top 11 Nigerian National Symbols and Their Meaning

Nigeria has some National symbols that seek to identify National beliefs and values.

Underneath are the pinnacle 11 National symbols and brief information about them.


1. Coat of arm

The Nigeria’s coat of arm was created under the Coat of Arms Ordinance 48 of 1960, it became an official symbol in 1975. It consists of a “black” shield which represents the fertility of the Nigerian soil, A “Y” on the black shield which represents the rivers Niger and Benue, Two white horses at both ends of the shield which represents dignity and pride of the Nigerian Nation, An eagle on the shield which stands for pride of the Nation.

The Nigerian motto “Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress” printed on the banner. Since 1978, these words were coined for public use. Previously, Nigeria’s motto consisted of the following terms: Peace, Unity, and Freedom.


2. Nigeria’s Flag

The flag of the Federal Republic of Nigeria was designed in 1959 and first officially hoisted on 1 October 1960. The flag has three vertical bands of green, white, green. The two green stripes represent natural wealth, and the white represents peace and unity. It was designed by Michael Taiwo Akinkunmi.


3. The National Anthem

The national Anthem of any country represents the tradition, belief and history of a Nigerian National Anthem “Nigeria, we hail thee” particular nation or state. The first Nigerian national anthem was used from 1960- 1978. “Arise O compatriots” was adopted in 1978 and is still used till date.


4. The National pledge

The Nigerian National Pledge was created by an eminent Nigeria; Prof (Mrs.) Felicia Adebola Adedoyin in 1976. “I pledge to Nigeria my country, to be faithful, loyal and honest. To serve Nigeria will all my strength, to defend her unity, uphold her honour and glory, and so help me God.” It is a solemn oath.


5. The seal of the President

The Seal of the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is the official symbol of the Nigerian President. It was first used in 1979 by President Shehu Shagari in the ill-fated second republic, and jettisoned by the successive military regimes from 1983 to 1999. The presidential seal returned to usage in the wake of the fourth republic in 1999, and it has remained in use since.


6. The Nigeria Currency (Naira)

The Naira is the currency of the Federal republic of Nigeria, The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) is the sole issuer of legal tender money throughout the Nigerian Federation. The banknotes are: ₦5, ₦10, ₦20, ₦50, ₦100, ₦200, ₦500, ₦1000.


7. The Nigeria Armed Forces

The Nigeria Armed forces include Nigerian Navy, Nigerian Army and Nigerian air force. Its commander in chief is usually the President of the federal republic of Nigeria which is currently President Muhammadu Buhari.


8. National Flower

The national flower of the country is Costus Spectabili, it is also called Yellow Trumpet. It symbolizes the beauty of
Trumpet. This flower can be found all over the country. Its uniqueness and prosperity.


10. The Nigeria’s President

The Nigeria’s President is often referred to as the Number 1 citizen of the Federal republic of Nigeria. He represents the general Nigeria population opinion within and outside the country.


11. The National Theatre

Nigeria is the primary center for the performing arts in Nigeria. The monument is located in Iganmu, Surulere, and Lagos. Its construction was completed in 1976 in preparation for the Festival of Arts and Culture (FESTAC) in 1977. The National Theater of Nigeria can be basically described as the NATIONAL HOME OF ENTERTAINMENT. Its management is committed to achieving the objectives for which the National Theater was established, with regard to the presentation, preservation and promotion of arts and culture in Nigeria. 

As a partially commercialized Federal Government parastatal, it is determined to broaden its mandate by becoming more innovative and adventurous in order to become more relevant in the competitive market.

Thanks for reading  

Post a Comment