List of 5 Countries Without a Written Constitution


List of 5 Countries Without a Written Constitution

Constitution refers to the set of laws and regulations that serve as the foundation for a country's governance. There are two types of rules. Laws that are clearly and precisely written and put into a single document are known as Written Laws.

An unwritten law is one that does not have written provisions or rules of law, but which is written even though it is not included in a document.

The countries without a written constitution are, United Kingdom (UK), Canada, Israel, Saudi Arabia New Zealand etc.

Professor Wasakkoya suggests that since there are several countries in the world that do not have a written constitution, it is better to call it an "unwritten constitution".

According to World Atlas, an "uncodified constitution" is a constitution composed of provisions that may be derived from a single document or, in the absence of a written constitution, from various documents. Documents used by reference may include opinions of court systems and legal experts.


List of 5 Countries Without a Written Constitution

• United Kingdom (UK)

As is commonly known, the United Kingdom does not have a written constitution, but derives its governing principles from four sources, including statutes, common law, political custom and authoritative works. Bills passed by Parliament are the final source of British law.


• Canada

Canada has earned its reputation as the 15th happiest country in the world through its written and unwritten practices. Laws include the Canada Act 1982, the Constitution Act 1867 (as amended) and the laws and orders contained in section 52(2) of the Constitution Act 1982.


• Israel

Israel has operated without a written constitution since the Harari Decision of June 30, 1950. After independence in 1948, there were several attempts to formally promulgate a constitution, but all failed. Currently, Israel has developed a basic law and a system of rights that have quasi-constitutional status.


• Saudi Arabia

The main laws of Saudi Arabia are the Qur'an and the Sunnah (traditions) of the Prophet of Islam.

Royal decrees issued by the ruler cover contemporary issues such as intellectual property and corporate law. To make the correct judgment based on the Basic Law (Sharia), judges refer to six medieval texts from the Hanbali school before making a decision. The Hanbali school derives its views on Sharia from the Qur'an, the Hadith (sayings and customs of Muhammad) and the Sahaba (companions of Muhammad).


• New Zealand

New Zealand does not have a single governing document and instead relies on a number of governing documents such as the 1986 Constitution, Acts of Parliament and court decisions.

Post a Comment